WN5 9LQ.

Telephone. 01942
Mobile. 07954

Britannia Hotels Ltd
253 Hale Road, Hale,
Altrincham, Cheshire,
WA15 8RE

20 April 2010

Booking details for reservation number 4800437.
Arrival Nights Room Rate Adults Children Infants Qty Cost Deposit
31/12/2009 2 Four Poster Superior Room Two Night New Year Package 2 0 0 1 £218.00 £218.00

Dear Sir or Madam,

Please note the above booking, booked on the 16th December 2009 as our Christmas treats to one another!

On arrival we were located room 556, obviously with the stale smell it was a smoking room, neither of us smoke. The bed was the problem though, a little disappointing as it lacked several pieces, such as 4 posts and a canopy etc.

Back at the reception we were told that our room was bigger than a 4 Poster Superior Room, this being an attempt to sway us to keep room 556, we refused, as the main reason for this booking was the experience of a 4-Poster Bed, as was stated on our room card. We were told then that there would be a wait of around an hour as rooms were still being cleaned; this was 2.30pm (again this seemed like an attempt to sway us to keep 556). Though stressed at this point we waited.

Sensing that there were issues I confronted the receptionist again and was told that the Duty Manager was on her way to see us.
Marta, the Duty Manager apologetically informed us; “We have no 4-Poster rooms available, and we have contacted the Britannia Manchester who also don’t have any 4-Posters available”.
Marta blamed central reservations for continually taking bookings for 4-Poster rooms that were not available.
What shall we do? What would you do?
As it was then gone 3.30pm our chances of finding alternate accommodation in Manchester on New Years Eve was very slim.
We could only reluctantly accept what you have available, we were given room 260, similar to 556 but a non-smoking room.

I noted that on the Internet, you were still selling 4-Poster New Year packages from the 27th December (at a reduced price of £178); you obviously didn’t have these rooms available to sell, false statements about services, accommodation or facilities (TDA 1968)?

There were also other false statements that were used to sell over the New Year Period, e.g. live entertainment throughout the day.

Never the less, I am not concerned with other issues, as I booked and paid for two nights in a 4-Poster Superior Room which I didn’t receive, you now owe me two nights in a 4-Poster Superior Room.

Please advise as soon as possible, as to what action you intend to take to resolve this issue.


Derek Hurst.